My Bully and Me

Posted on June 26, 2009. Filed under: Uncategorized |

Yesterday, I got an email from my publisher, reminding me to add any new contacts to our marketing and media list for my book. I do perk up when I get an email from my publisher because, hey, it’s my publisher, something I’m fortunate to be able to say I have. So, I read her email, took note of its request, and went about my day.

Today, I opened my email again and there it was–the email my publisher sent yesterday. But this time, I noticed something different. There was a paper clip next to it, meaning, Not only do you have mail, Patti, but you have an attachment! How could I have overlooked that simple, but very significant, item? I need to pay closer attention, and most certainly needed a kick in the attitude or somewhere else. My bully didn’t disappoint and delivered a swift one.

Who is my bully? My bully is the less frequently seen part of me, the one that stays dormant until I slack off too long or let important information slip through the cracks. My bully can either be my arch enemy or my savior. Here’s what my bully had to say:

Me:  Man, I wish I’d seen that attachment.

Bully:  That was from your publisher, and it had an attachment. IT HAD AN ATTACHMENT AND YOU DIDN’T OPEN IT. You’ve got to get your head in the game.

Me: Yeah, I know. I was busy and didn’t pay attention. I’m sorry.

Bully:  Sorry doesn’t cut it. I’ve spent my entire life trying to get you to listen to me.  I’ve told you time and time again that you need to focus if you’re going to get anywhere. I don’t want excuses; I want results!

Me:  Well, let’s just be glad that it wasn’t something that needed an urgent response.

Bully:  You’ve got to be kidding me!  You know, someday your ship is going to come in and you’re going to miss it because you’re not working hard enough or fast enough to get to the shore on time. It’s not like it’s going to pull up to your house, you know. You live in the middle of the cornfields, for crying out loud.

Me:  I’ll do better. I promise.

Bully:  Good. Then my work here is done.

Me:  Wait, Bully, can you do me a favor? Can you come back – not often, mind you – but if I start to slip every now and then, would you mind giving me a swift kick in the attitude or a push in the right direction?

Bully:  Don’t worry.  I’ll be watching you.  Now, get back to work, starting with yesterday’s emails. You’ve got work to do!

Me:  Thanks, Bully.  I needed that.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

