From a Lullaybe to Goodbye: Increase SIDS Awareness

Posted on October 14, 2009. Filed under: Parenting, Uncategorized | Tags: |

Matthew Clark McKenna 001

Matthew Clark McKenna became one of God’s little angels on April 30, 1987.

October is SIDS Awareness Month. It’s not a cause I would have picked to support – frankly, I would have thought it was too sad. After all, who really wants to think about losing a child. Nobody.

I never thought about it, either, but that didn’t stop it from changing my life forever. It was April 30, 1987, when I lost my child to SIDS. The darkest day of my life was when we went from a lullabye to goodbye.

Losing a child is devestating. It’s also senseless when you don’t really know why. The questions are never answered; the cause is never cured.  That is all the more reason why I believe it is so important to spare one, two , and hopefully, every child from being the victim of SIDS.

Please help me and others in our quest to save babies. No parent should ever have to go from a lullabye to goodbye.

Here’s how you can help:

Visit www.sidscenter.org to get details on SIDS.

Visit www.firstcandle.org

Help Twitter PickNicksBrain and win prizes, too:  Great prizes this month in our SIDS Awareness October Giveaway. See post for details on how to enter. http://bit.ly/octgvawy

Order a copy of my book, Caution: Children Should Come With Warning Labels (not about SIDS). I wil donate a portion of the proceeds to SIDS research, and my publisher will match my donation. Free shipping at www.UrbanEdgePublishing.com.

If my son’s life had a purpose, let it be to help  us erase SIDS forever.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

2 Responses to “From a Lullaybe to Goodbye: Increase SIDS Awareness”

RSS Feed for Parenting 1 Word at a Time Comments RSS Feed

I am so very sorry for the loss of your little one. As a new mother myself, I am very concerned about the cause of SIDS and eradicating it from our lives. As you likely know, there was a very successful mattress-wrapping campaign in New Zealand many years ago; the results of which were never publicized in the US.

I wrote about it here and hope to spread the word.

http://www.calicoblonde.wordpress.com

Thank you. I welcome information for mysef and my readers which raise SIDS awareness and contributes toward saving the lives of our most vulnerable and innocent. Thank you for sharing and I will be happy to check your link.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

