Over Yonder

Posted on October 27, 2009. Filed under: children, Parenting, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , |

I just got an email asking where I’m headed in life. Hmm. Profound question for an astrological spammer to ask, isn’t it? Am I going where I want to go? I may not be there, but I do know I’m present.

I’m a wife and a mother, a mother, a mother, and a mother. Four kids, I get to count four roles, right? I’m a mother in law, a sister, a daughter, a friend, an aunt. I’m a writer, an editor, a blogger. This year, I’ve been a wedding planner, a mover, a chauffeur, a driver’s ed teacher, a school policy reviewer. I’ve voluntarily tried to right wrongs. I’ve been a charity supporter, a dog and cat owner, and a  foster pet mother. I’ve been a cook, a maid, a laundress, and an ATM.

While I do all of those things, I have to admit that I’m not the best of the best, the cream of the crop.  There’s always room for improvement.  From afar, I admire those who have arrived to where they want to be, a place I call over yonder – an unknown destination where dreams come true.

Over yonder is where I’ll be when I’m not only an author, but a successful one. Over yonder is where I’ll be when I have the time to enjoy my kids – and my future grandchildren. Over yonder is where I’ll be when the balance doesn’t have to checked every time I become the ATM. I don’t know where over yonder is, but right now, it’s somewhere I’m not.

Over yonder is anywhere I’m not.

It’s standing on the edge of Frisco Bay

Holding babies in Little Rock

It’s where I’ll be with my love

and meet fate and destiny.

I don’t know where life’s gonna take me.

But I reckon when I get there,

Over yonder’s where I’ll be.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

