Mother Knew Best

Posted on December 27, 2009. Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , |

Mother Knew Best…

As the door closes on this year and a new one opens, I feel a sense of melancholy, wanting to grasp onto the past and hold it closely where it can’t escape. But living in the past isn’t wise, since the past prepares us for the future. So, as I look toward the New Year, I contemplate my life and philosophies, and attempt to put them into perspective as I reflect on who I am and who I want to be.

Suddenly, I’m reminded of a poem my mom kept on the refrigerator door, which sums up every New Year’s resolution and personal development goal I might have. If I can heed this philosophy, I’ll be a better friend, mother, and neighbor. And if that isn’t the best New Year’s resolution a gal can have, I don’t know what is.

 

How far you go in life depends on

your being tender with the young,

compassionate with the aged,

sympathetic with the striving,

and tolerant of the weak and strong

because some time in your life

you will have been all of these.

 

What are your philosophies and resolutions? I’d love to hear them!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

