Driving Us Crazy

Posted on March 20, 2010. Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , |

Today is the day. Hopefully, by noon, both of my youngest girls will have their driver’s licenses. I say that not because I’m looking forward to them driving (I am a Herscher parent who knows how many kids our school has lost in a wide open rural highway community). I hope they get their license because if they don’t, I’m sure my husband is going to make me take them back if they fail.

I took the first two – one at a time, sitting at the DMV for four hours at least each time. Seriously, why are they sooooo slooooww, and so grumpy? Service with a smile would make the wait a little less grueling and would calm the jittery nerves of these kids testing the first time.

Anyway, Meridith is getting her license at the age of 17, partly because of us, yes, I already admitted I’m not looking forward to them driving unsupervised. Em’s 16 and everyone knows that Emily doesn’t have the patience that her big sister has.

Fifteen months apart, and getting their licenses on the same day. And miracle of all miracles, their dad took them to do it. I sat back, acting like I couldn’t hear the requests to go to the DMV this morning. I knew it was coming. There’s a reason a 16 and 17 yr old get out of bed at 7 a.m. on a Saturday. Their dad caved.

After getting their life story together, a 50 hr driving log, birth certificates, social security cards, parent consent forms, insurance card, all I had to do was find one piece of mail with each of their names and addresses on it. Now, that was easy for Meridith because colleges are flooding our mailboxes daily with marketing material. But Emily? Now, she’s a sophomore and if she gets mail, it is twice a year, and usually it’s a report card. But, although I do save a lot of useless stuff, I don’t save the envelope that proves that the report card was mailed to her. I could see my husband breathe a sigh of relief – ‘don’t find it, don’t find’ it was written all over his face. Then, I only have to take one of them and it won’t take six hours…

Maybe it was because one of them already said she was “gassy”. “Mom, what can I do?”

Six foot three dad shrunk at that point, trying to disappear and escape from this morning’s hell.

He even came out and said, “Maybe we should just practice today and go next week.” Uh – that worked for a year with Meridith…new excuse necesary.

Alas, Emily found mail with her name on it in her room – a church youth group invitation.

They sat in the driveway for 15 minutes before they left. Doing what, I don’t know, but my guess is, knowing them, there’s definitely a story to be told.

Now, they’re gone. I know hubby isn’t the happiest camper right now, but come on, I did my equal share and took the first two. I did 90 percent of the doctor visits, all of the diaper changes, and if they got sick, yup, I got the trophy. He gets to take two and at the same time – how much easier could I make it for him?

And let’s be honest, IF they both get their license today, I’m going to be the one with the short end of the stick. He’ll get his truck, and I’ll get two daughters fighting over who is going to get to drive my car.  They’ll drive me crazy and leave me carless.

And I thought it was rough when they were both in diapers at the same time.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “Driving Us Crazy”

RSS Feed for Parenting 1 Word at a Time Comments RSS Feed

Couldn’t be any funnier because it’s all true!!


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

